Jewish Symbols in the Greco-Roman Period

History / Military

The Thresher Disaster: The Most Tragic Dive in Submarine History by John Bentley
Army of None: Autonomous Weapons and the Future of War by Paul Scharre
Caddyshack: The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story by Chris Nashawaty
Kirk Wallace Johnson, „The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century“
Erwin Ramsdell Goodenough, Jacob Neusner, „Jewish Symbols in the Greco-Roman Period“

The Thresher Disaster: The Most Tragic Dive in Submarine History by John Bentley

English | 1975 | ISBN: 0385030576 | 372 Pages | EPUB | 3.3 MB

Regarding this doomed submarine. this one, however, is different. it is not merely the disaster this book is concerned with, it is the real men, their personalities, their problems, their concerns, their abilities and their perceived failures. This is not to suggest that any one of them had a hand in the disaster, i’ve come away with the decided view that the disaster was caused by problematic workmanship, a too new design (always an engineering nightmare) and, surprisingly, interior design flaws. this submarine was actually had an interior decorator! much of the most problematic components of this marvel of undersea engineering were hidden and difficult to reach in order to fix. also, the brazing technique used to attach salt water pipes throughout the boat were of a type no longer used because of their failure rare, Norman Polnar’s book regarding the same boat is technically excellent, Bentley’s book is also technically excellent however Bentley’s book is more extensive and much more human.

Army of None: Autonomous Weapons and the Future of War by Paul Scharre

English | April 24th, 2018 | ASIN: B073VXYD5P, ISBN: 0393608980 | 448 Pages | EPUB | 17.19 MB

A Pentagon defense expert and former U.S. Army Ranger explores what it would mean to give machines authority over the ultimate decision of life or death.
What happens when a Predator drone has as much autonomy as a Google car? Or when a weapon that can hunt its own targets is hacked? Although it sounds like science fiction, the technology already exists to create weapons that can attack targets without human input. Paul Scharre, a leading expert in emerging weapons technologies, draws on deep research and firsthand experience to explore how these next-generation weapons are changing warfare.
Scharre’s far-ranging investigation examines the emergence of autonomous weapons, the movement to ban them, and the legal and ethical issues surrounding their use. He spotlights artificial intelligence in military technology, spanning decades of innovation from German noise-seeking Wren torpedoes in World War II—antecedents of today’s homing missiles—to autonomous cyber weapons, submarine-hunting robot ships, and robot tank armies. Through interviews with defense experts, ethicists, psychologists, and activists, Scharre surveys what challenges might face „centaur warfighters“ on future battlefields, which will combine human and machine cognition. We’ve made tremendous technological progress in the past few decades, but we have also glimpsed the terrifying mishaps that can result from complex automated systems—such as when advanced F-22 fighter jets experienced a computer meltdown the first time they flew over the International Date Line.
At least thirty countries already have defensive autonomous weapons that operate under human supervision. Around the globe, militaries are racing to build robotic weapons with increasing autonomy. The ethical questions within this book grow more pressing each day. To what extent should such technologies be advanced? And if responsible democracies ban them, would that stop rogue regimes from taking advantage? At the forefront of a game-changing debate, Army of None engages military history, global policy, and cutting-edge science to argue that we must embrace technology where it can make war more precise and humane, but without surrendering human judgment. When the choice is life or death, there is no replacement for the human heart.

Caddyshack: The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story by Chris Nashawaty

English | April 24th, 2018 | ASIN: B0763SFWP6, ISBN: 1250105951, 125010596X | 304 Pages | EPUB | 29.87 MB

Caddyshack is one of the most beloved comedies of all time, a classic snobs vs. slobs story of working class kids and the white collar buffoons that make them haul their golf bags in the hot summer sun. It has sex, drugs and one very memorable candy bar, but the movie we all know and love didn’t start out that way, and everyone who made it certainly didn’t have the word “classic” in mind as the cameras were rolling.
In Caddyshack:The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story film critic for Entertainment Weekly Chris Nashawaty goes behind the scenes of the iconic film, chronicling the rise of comedy’s greatest deranged minds as they form The National Lampoon, turn the entertainment industry on its head, and ultimately blow up both a golf course and popular culture as we know it. Caddyshack is at once an eye-opening narrative about one of the most interesting, surreal, and dramatic film productions there’s ever been, and a rich portrait of the biggest, and most revolutionary names in Hollywood. So, it’s got that going for it…which is nice.

Kirk Wallace Johnson, „The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century“

ISBN: 110198161X | 2018 | EPUB | 320 pages | 27 MB

“One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor
“Fascinating from the first page to the last—you won’t be able to put it down.” —Southern Living
A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.
On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London’s Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin’s obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin’s, Alfred Russel Wallace, who’d risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness.
Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man’s relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man’s destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

Erwin Ramsdell Goodenough, Jacob Neusner, „Jewish Symbols in the Greco-Roman Period“

1989 | ISBN-10: 0691099677 | 328 pages | PDF | 58 MB

This volume presents the most important portions of Erwin Goodenough’s classic thirteen-volume work, a magisterial attempt to encompass human spiritual history in general through the study of Jewish symbols in particular. Revealing that the Jewish religion of the period was much more varied and complex than the extant Talmudic literature would lead us to believe, Goodenough offered evidence for the existence of a Hellenistic-Jewish mystic mythology far closer to the Qabbalah than to rabbinical Judaism.

Jewish Symbols in the Greco-Roman Period.pdf
57.63 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
The Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century.epub
26.86 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
Caddyshack The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story.epub
29.87 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
Army of None Autonomous Weapons and the Future of War.epub
17.19 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
The Thresher Disaster The Most Tragic Dive in Submarine History.epub
1.68 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.