The Tibetan History Reader

History / Military

Gray Tuttle, Kurtis R. Schaeffer – The Tibetan History Reader
The Portuguese Empire in Asia, 1500-1700: A Political and Economic History, 2 edition by Sanjay Subrahmanyam
The Admirals: Nimitz, Halsey, Leahy, and King–The Five-Star Admirals Who Won the War at Sea
Daniel James Brown, „The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics“
Matthew M. Aid, „Intel Wars: The Secret History of the Fight Against Terror“

Gray Tuttle, Kurtis R. Schaeffer – The Tibetan History Reader

Published: 2013-04-09 | ISBN: 0231144695, 0231144687 | PDF | 752 pages | 5 MB

Covering the social, cultural, and political development of Tibet from the seventh century to the modern period, this resource reproduces essential, hard-to-find essays from the past fifty years of Tibetan studies, along with several new contributions. Beginning with Tibet’s emergence as a regional power and concluding with its profound contemporary transformations, the collection is both a general and specific history, connecting the actions of individuals, communities, and institutions to broader historical trends shaping Asia and the world. With contributions from American, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, and Tibetan scholars, the anthology reflects the international character of Tibetan studies and its multiple, interdisciplinary perspectives. By far the most concise scholarly anthology on Tibetan civilization in any Western language, this reader draws a clear portrait of Tibet’s history, its relation to its neighbors, and its role in world affairs.

The Portuguese Empire in Asia, 1500-1700: A Political and Economic History, 2 edition by Sanjay Subrahmanyam

English | ISBN: 0470672919 | 2012 | PDF | 360 pages | 2,4 MB

Featuring updates and revisions that reflect recent historiography, this new edition of The Portuguese Empire in Asia 1500-1700 presents a comprehensive overview of Portuguese imperial history that considers Asian and European perspectives.
Features an argument-driven history with a clear chronological structure
Considers the latest developments in English, French, and Portuguese historiography
Offers a balanced view in a divisive area of historical study
Includes updated Glossary and Guide to Further Reading

The Admirals: Nimitz, Halsey, Leahy, and King–The Five-Star Admirals Who Won the War at Sea

ISBN: 0316097845 | 2012 | EPUB/MOBI | 576 pages | 5 MB/7 MB

How history’s only five-star admirals triumphed in World War II and made the United States the world’s dominant sea power.
Only four men in American history have been promoted to the five-star rank of Admiral of the Fleet: William Leahy, Ernest King, Chester Nimitz, and William Halsey. These four men were the best and the brightest the navy produced, and together they led the U.S. navy to victory in World War II, establishing the United States as the world’s greatest fleet.

Daniel James Brown, „The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics“

2013 | ISBN: 067002581X, 0143125478 | 416 pages | EPUB, MOBI | 27 MB

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand’s Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler’s 1936 Berlin Olympics
Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.
Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam’s The Amateurs.

Matthew M. Aid, „Intel Wars: The Secret History of the Fight Against Terror“

ISBN: 1608194817 | 2012 | EPUB/MOBI | 272 pages | 2 MB/2 MB

The United States intelligence establishment is a colossus. With stations in 170 countries, armed with cutting-edge surveillance gear, high-tech weapons, and fleets of armed and unarmed drone aircraft, it commands the most extensive and advanced intel force in history. But America’s spy establishment still struggles to keep pace with a host of determined enemies around the world.
In Intel Wars, leading espionage historian Matthew M. Aid delivers the inside stories of our decade-long struggle against terrorism-its hard-won successes and bedeviling failures.
Based on extensive, on-the-ground interviews on the front lines and in D.C., as well as revelations from Wikileaks cables and other newly declassified documents, Intel Wars is the most authoritative account yet written of the secret war that America is still fighting.

The Tibetan History Reader.pdf
5.65 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
The Portuguese Empire in Asia, 1500-1700-A Political and Economic History, 2 edition.pdf
3.58 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
The Admirals- Nimitz, Halsey, Leahy, and King--The Five-Star Admirals Who Won the War at Sea.epub
5.49 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
The Boys in the Boat- Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics.epub
13.21 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.
Intel Wars-The Secret History of the Fight Against Terror.epub
2.13 MB

All content is only for demonstration and educational purposes, we do not store files, and after reading we ask you to buy a printed version of the magazine.